The Invisibles: A Novel

The Invisibles: A Novel

Language: English

Pages: 400

ISBN: 0062363514

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


In the vein of Meg Donohue and Jennifer Close, comes Cecilia Galante’s adult debut about the complicated and powerful bonds of female friendship—a compelling, moving novel that is told in both the present and the past.

Thrown together by chance as teenagers at Turning Winds Home for Girls, Nora, Ozzie, Monica, and Grace quickly bond over their troubled pasts and form their own family which they dub The Invisibles. But when tragedy strikes after graduation, Nora is left to deal with the horrifying aftermath alone as the other three girls leave home and don’t look back.

Fourteen years later, Nora is living a quiet, single life working in the local library. She is content to focus on her collection of “first lines” (her favorite opening lines from novels) and her dog, Alice Walker, when out-of-the-blue Ozzie calls her on her thirty-second birthday. But after all these years, Ozzie hasn’t called her to wish a happy birthday. Instead, she tells Nora that Grace attempted suicide and is pleading for The Invisibles to convene again. Nora is torn: she is thrilled at the thought of being in touch with her friends, and yet she is hesitant at seeing these women after such a long and silent period of time. Bolstered by her friends at the library, Nora joins The Invisibles in Chicago for a reunion that sets off an extraordinary chain of events that will change each of their lives forever.

The Invisibles is an unforgettable novel that asks the questions: How much of our pasts define our present selves? And what does it take to let go of some of our most painful wounds and move on? 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

the group?” Ozzie stood up and put her hands on her hips. The edges of her fingernails were threaded with dried blood. “Maybe.” Grace tossed her head. “I haven’t decided yet.” “Then bring a stick.” Ozzie headed for the door. “And something of your own. It should be something that shows off a talent of yours.” “What kind of talent?” Nora wrote. “Whatever you want,” Ozzie answered. “Monica’s a really good cook, so she always makes a snack.” “I’m thinking something with chocolate for tomorrow.”

chairs a smooth black satin. It was like something out of a magazine. “So, what do you think?” Monica grinned as the waiter, dressed in a dark blue designer suit, left with their drink order. Nora had followed Monica’s lead, ordering a glass of sauvignon blanc, while Ozzie ordered a Jack Daniel’s, neat. Grace asked for a club soda with lime. Nora shook her head and looked around anxiously. “I can’t even imagine what a drink in a place like this is going to cost, let alone a meal.” “Let alone

someone had taught you to do that when you were younger, it wouldn’t be so hard to remember now?” Ozzie closed her menu again, slowly this time. “Yes,” she said. “Exactly.” The women moved back a little as the waiter appeared with their drinks. Nora took a sip and then placed the glass—which was the size of a small fishbowl—back on the table. The wine warmed her belly, but left a slightly sour pool on the back of her tongue. “I used to have that problem with going to the dentist,” Grace said.

she thought. It couldn’t be. If it was, she wouldn’t be missing it the way she was. Next to her Ozzie snored, a long, rumbling sound that careened off into a high-pitched whine. Grace, who was curled up like a cat in the backseat, her thin legs tucked under her, muttered under her breath, while Monica, whose head was flung back on the seat rest, sat perfectly still. Nora’s eyes got heavier, and after another few moments, she reached across the seat and shook Ozzie awake. Ozzie recoiled at her

“Come on.” Another attempt failed. “Are you kidding me? Seriously? This thing decides to run out of juice now? Now?” “Forget it, Oz.” Nora stepped forward. “I think I know where we are. Put your stuff back in your knapsack and follow me.” Ozzie threw the lighter back into her backpack. “How do you know where we are? We’re in total fucking darkness. I can’t even see you, and you’re standing three inches away from me.” “Come on.” Nora dodged the question. “This way. Let’s just get out of here.

Download sample

Download