The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B

The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B

Teresa Toten

Language: English

Pages: 304

ISBN: 0553507869

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


Filled with moments of deep emotion and unexpected humor, this understated and wise novel explores the complexities of living with OCD and offers the prospect of hope, happiness and healing. Perfect for readers who love Eleanor & Park and All the Bright Places.
 
ADAM’S GOALS:
Grow immediately.
Find courage.
Keep courage.
Get normal.
Marry Robyn Plummer.
 
The instant Adam Spencer Ross meets Robyn Plummer in his Young Adult OCD Support Group, he is hopelessly, desperately drawn to her. Robyn has an hypnotic voice, blue eyes the shade of an angry sky, and ravishing beauty that makes Adam’s insides ache. She’s also just been released from a residential psychiatric program—the kind for the worst, most difficult-to-cure cases; the kind that Adam and his fellow support group members will do anything to avoid joining.

Adam immediately knows that he has to save Robyn, must save Robyn, or die trying. But is it really Robyn who needs rescuing? And is it possible to have a normal relationship when your life is anything but?
 
Select praise for The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B:

“. . . achingly authentic. Like Augustus Waters before him, Adam Spencer Ross will renew your faith in real-life superheroes and shatter your heart in equal measures.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred

“This book made me laugh, cry, think, and kept me coming back for more.” —The Guardian
 
“Adam is a protagonist that readers will root for.” —VOYA
 
“Honest, fresh, and funny . . . Toten employs information about OCD like grace notes in this deft and compelling narrative.” —Booklist
 
“Adam is a fresh and complex character, and far more than the sum of his symptoms.” —Publishers Weekly

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

important position of authority. His mother dealt with all manner of conflicts and crises, from minor scheduling snafus to the manic helplessness of the dispossessed and the dangerous. She was good at all of it. People admired her. If you want something done, and done right, give it to Carmella. That very same competent Carmella sat outside for hours with her son, hustling the neighbours into buying his homemade lemonade and/or mudpies. “Mudpies! Get your fresh mudpies! Three for a buck, get ’em

or meditation or …” “I sort of get it,” said Green Lantern, mainly to himself. “I’m thinking that praying to the big guy might help when I’m freaking out about harming people I love. It helped my mom with the drinking for sure. AA is big into the higher-power stuff.” “Whoa, people, religion is not a panacea.” Chuck was writing things down at a furious pace. “In fact, religion is not even a recognized tool in most OCD recovery kits.” “Well, I don’t see why not,” Wonder Woman stopped twitching

bring them all in. If doing psycho homework would put him on the fast track to being fixed, then move over, Adam was boarding that bus. Robyn was waiting. “Can we review it together?” asked Chuck. “No! Uh, I mean, no. We … Not this time, if that’s okay. Okay?” Adam’s heart was racing. It went to the starting block as soon as Chuck said the word review. Of course the therapist would want to “review” the List, discuss it, pick it apart. Hell, it freaked him out that Chuck was even going to read

mom. Do you want to talk about her a bit?” “No, sir.” You are an abortion. Die bitch die. You are ruining your son’s life. A dread hiding a guilty truth pounded harder and harder. Jesus. Was there some disgusting part of him that agreed? Adam shook his head. Jesus, thump, pa-thump. Jesus. He was a monster. “No. I’m good.” Chuck frowned. “Okay, we’ll leave that for the moment. How about at your dad’s? How is it going with your stepmother?” “Brenda?” Brenda? Mrs. Brenda Ross loves you more, she

never any time. His life kept getting in the way. When he stepped on the landing dripping with rain, he could sense the force field surrounding the threshold. The razors nicked him. And even though he knew better, Adam checked for signs of blood. These thoughts are not reality; they are mere thoughts. He faced the door with a raggedy breath. The field around it shimmered. No way. His courage dissolved into the fog. Robyn was wrong. He was gutless. And then he smelled it. Unmistakable. He had

Download sample

Download