Who I Kissed

Who I Kissed

Janet Gurtler

Language: English

Pages: 320

ISBN: 1402270542

Format: PDF / Kindle (mobi) / ePub


Janet Gurtler's books have been hailed as "just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult" (Booklist) and "reminiscent of Judy Blume" (RT Book Reviews). Her latest contemporary YA novel is by turns gripping, heart-wrenching, and joyous as one teen girl has to find the courage to carry on after a devastating tragedy.

She never thought a kiss could kill...

As the new girl in town, Samantha just wants to fit in. Being invited to a party by her fellow swim team members is her big chance...especially since Zee will be there. He hasn't made a secret of checking her out at the pool. Sam didn't figure on Alex being there too. She barely even knows him. And she certainly didn't plan to kiss him. It just kind of happened.

And then Alex dies―right in her arms...

Consumed by guilt and grief, Sam has no idea what to do or where to turn when everyone at school blames her. What follows is Sam's honest, raw, and unforgettable journey to forgive herself and find balance―maybe even love―in a life that suddenly seems to be spinning out of control.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

fridge. “I might borrow Sam’s laptop and set up a profile for you on one of those dating services.” He glances at me. We both know he was seeing a woman from work back in Orlie, even if we didn’t talk about it much. Rose. She wore yoga pants and ugly sweaters. She was nice, mostly quiet, kind of a female version of him. I couldn’t imagine them doing anything except having dinner together and bonding over spreadsheets and chose to believe their relationship was purely platonic, even though some

glances at Aunt Allie and then at me. I almost see actual wheels turning inside his head as he tries to think of something to say. “Stupid kids,” he mutters. “Just stupid kids.” Invisible spiders race up and down my arms, leaving shivery bumps behind them. I wrap my arms around myself. “Tell me what you saw.” Slowly, shaking his head and mumbling, Dad pulls his hand out from behind his back. His hand grips a small jar of peanut butter. Red lid. Extra crunchy, extra peanuts. Icicles crystalize

Fredrick trots over to me and jumps up, pawing at my legs, so I lift him to my lap. He circles around, digging his little nails into my legs. “This is a sign of Mercury in retrograde,” Aunt Allie says. “Tricksters abound. Unresolved issues come to light. Things are in flux.” Fredrick jumps up, licking at my face, chasing at my closed mouth with his tiny tongue. I move away, but he tries to make out with me. As if that might help. “No se preocupen. Yo te protegeré,” Aunt Allie says in her

suddenly allergic to chlorine? What’s stopping you?” He squeezes my arm a little harder and it pinches, but I don’t flinch. A freshman walks by, trying not to look like she’s witnessing prime gossip and taking mental notes to deliver to her friends. He lets go of my arm and I automatically rub where he was pressing. “It’s not just about you, Sam. The Titans need you to help us win our division. This is the first year we can actually do it.” His deep voice growls. “Clair deserves it. She’s the

grins. “I heard all about you.” Then her face kind of changes, and I see her remembering what else I’m known for. Outside the swimming pool. “Oh. I totally didn’t mean it that way. I heard about your swimming.” She pauses. “I’m sorry. About that boy.” There’s genuine sympathy in her eyes. Not judgment or blame. I nod my hello and acceptance of her words. “Alex,” Zee says. “His name was Alex.” The little boy shrieks at the top of his lungs. “Joe,” the girl holding him says, but she laughs.

Download sample

Download